Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas wher

The argument avers that Nature's way, a chain of health food and health-related products stores, looking for opening a branch in Plainsville will be a success. The author provides the basis of his conclusion. However, in my opinion, there are fallacious and can lead to a plethora of different scenarios. Before reaching any conclusion, let us scrutinize each assumption from different perspectives.

Firstly, the author throws an unprovided claim that the new franchise in Plainsville will be a success and continue on to provide his hypothesis for the same. He/She suggests, without any supporting survey or fact, that other stores of the same chain were successful in area where people were healthy. Even if we take author's word for it, there can be other reasons for which people buy medicines. For instance, a person practicing healthy habits can be genetically diabetic or could be suffering from any terminal disease he/she inherited. A person could be taking medicines for allergy. A person could be taking valium for anxiety. All of the aforementioned are are healthy but still taken medicines regularly. Thus, it is of stark importance to dig in and know about other possible reasons for the demand of medicines rather than hastily reaching a conclusion.

Secondly, there can be other factors that come into play when looking to open new franchise which the author fails to take into account. For example, the demographic condition of Plainsville region is unprovided which is vital to compare it with other towns. There could be possibility that younger population contributed majority of the sales however, plainsville has majority population in their 70s. In that situation, the argument does'nt stand for the assumptions made by the author.

Moving on, although the stores sells both health food as well as health-related products, there is no mention about their individual share in the total sales of other regions where the stores are running successfully. Even though the students are required to exercise it does not warrant that the sales will be in consonant with sales of other franchises.

Lastly, even if one agrees to all the unwarranted claims of the author there is no guarantee that the sales will skyrocket. There are n number of scenarios possible for other stores. For example, the stores in other areas might be selling the medicines to stores outside their region leading to increased sales. That, for sure, can't be taken as a basis for forming an argument.

To sum up, the argument is brittle because of the assumptions made. It can be made stronger if the author pays heed to and works on the above-mentioned fallacies.