The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in

The author avers that the number of people attending the Super Screen-produced movies has plunged lately. Moreover, the author goes on to claim that since, the positive reviews aren't reaching the audience people are not attending the movies proportionately. However, he/she fails to provide any credible hypothesis behind his fallacious conclusion. The argument hastily rushes to an unsound conclusion without paying heed to the underlying vital assumptions. Let us scrutinize the argument.

Firstly, a movie liked by one person does not necessarily be liked by all. The author commits a blunder by equating positive reviews with a good movie. For example, if most people attending the movie shows like action irrespective of and more than the story line or characters or any other factor, then they are less likely to attend a high rated horror or emotional movie. A positive review by a critics has been fallaciously equated to a movie liked by the audience in a particular locality. Thus, more information pertaining to the movie, taste of people and the critics are vital and to be provided with before reaching to any sound conclusion.

Secondly, even if one agrees to authors claims that a good review of a movie by a critic is will be liked by the people proportionately, it is still unwarranted that people will visit the screen-produced movies once the strategy mentioned by the author is implemented. For example, what if there is a hike in the price of the ticket? What if the quality of the screen has plunged during the course of past year? What if the screen has changed it's policy and has made mandatory for the public to purchase their over-priced snacks? The argument fails to provide any information pertaining to the aforementioned factors. Should any one of the above-mentioned be true, the low foot-fall will continue regardless of how good or bad a movie is.

Moving on, even if one ignores all the above-mentioned fallacies, there are certain other factors that can affect the attendance of public. There is no mention about changes in the demography of the region. Moreover, there is no data about any new screen-movie producing firms in the locality. There are other factors such as traffic which can discourage people to travel for more time for a movie. These factors are unaccounted for in the argument leading to a brittle conclusion.

Lastly, the author does not account the changes in the economic conditions as compared to previous year. A change in the pay system can leave people with little or no money to spend on a movie. Likewise, a change in the tax on screen-play movie will again discourage people from paying a hefty sum of money on movies. Thus, the author's claim that foraying more money for marketing the positively reviewed movie will increase the people's attendance seems absurd and fallacious.

To sum up, the author has failed to provide vital information and has not paid heed to the underlying assumptions pertaining to the argument. Due to the dearth of data, one cannot reach any conclusion. To make the argument stronger the author must address the above-mentioned fallacies.