The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.” Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

When a department is planning initiatives on how to allocated its limited budget, several questions must be addressed before making final decisions. In this case, the advertising director should answer several key questions before deciding the allocate more of the budget to advertising to the public, such as the validity of the reviews, and the overall trend of attendance to its movies.

One of the important questions to answer is whether the increased percentage of positive response is due to the unsatisfied people choosing not to attend Super Screen-produced movies. Addressing this concern is crucial as it could reveal that the issue is not due to the public's lack of awareness of the Super-Screen movies, but instead that more people are becoming more unsatisfied, so that the only people left giving reviews are positive. This is not an unheard of situation as companies, a notable one being Amazon, have faced multiple allegations of paying employees to leave positive reviews of the company on the site. Therefore, relying on reviews to assess true public perception may not always be the most accurate choice. Addressing this issue would help to evaluate the recommendation by allowing the director to consider issues that have a greater scope than just reviews.

Another important question may be to consider the overall trend. If fewer people attended by only a small margin, then it may not be too much cause for concern. This is especially true if the company starts seeing an upward trend back to its normal predictions. However, if the company has been seeing a steady decline with no end in sight, then the recommendation to increase budget allocations to public advertising may be a good step to get back on track.

In conclusion, the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company should properly address these concerns of revies and trend in movie attendance in order to make the most effective business decision. The recommendation to allocate increased budget share may very well be reasonable if a few more factors affecting this decision are considered in greater detail.