should children be required to spend sometimes in doing household chores

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented boom in the economy, therefore there is an increasing number of citizens putting more emphasis on children’s upbringing, thus a heated discussion has been triggered that should children be required to do some household chores, such as vacuuming the floors, taking out the garbage and things like that. Numerous individuals reckon that given the pressure caused by excessive school assignments, children ought not to be mandated to do household chores. However, I cannot concur with this opinion. I harbor the idea that it is an optimal choice for parents to ask their children to do housework with them and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, doing housework enables tender children to reinforce their self-independence. Nowadays, owing to the implementation of the one-child policy, nearly all both nuclear families and extended families only have one beloved child, hence all attentions have been paid to the tender child no matter how old she or he is, a toddler or a preschooler or even an adult. Under this circumstance, parents and older generations are in charge of every trivial affair and nothing falls on children’s shoulder, which fosters their dependence on guardians. However, the reality is that children have to grow adults and at a certain age, they are doom to leave their families and live without help from others. When they live alone, they have no alternatives but to tackle all housework by themselves, for instance, doing the dishes, cooking on their own. Provided that they have been carefully tended for several years, how can they become capable of doing household chores promptly? Consequently, it is self-explanatory that parents are supposed to ask their children to have intervention in doing household chores. There is no need for parents to assign all housework to children, which is far beyond their capabilities. What parents can do is to letting them know how to do trifling affairs efficaciously and offering some techniques for them. Little by little, children are informed of the efficacious way to finish housework and strengthen their self-dependence.

What’s more, doing housework together is also a terrific opportunity for parents and children to ameliorate their family bonds. To be more specific, owing to the sizzling economy and the ever fierce competition, both parents and children are preoccupied with tremendous affairs. Parents have to tackle issues in their jobs, while children are burdened with extra curriculum and practices assigned by teachers. Therefore, the estrangement may be germinated under this circumstance owing to the dearth of efficient communication. Nevertheless, doing household chores renders them the leisure time to communicate with each other. Initially, children are more willing to share their happiness and sorrows in schools in a relaxing atmosphere. Hearing the problems that perplex their beloved children, parents are capable of providing several suggestions to grapple with the issues. Some of them can even give life guidance so as to prevent children from behaving in a socially unacceptable way. Meanwhile, parents can also share their baffling problems in jobs, which enables children to have mutual comprehension of parents. Gradually, the gap between generations can be easily eliminated without much efforts and relationships are also ameliorated.

Admittedly, children are enslaved by escalating practices and they have an imperative need to rejuvenate themselves in leisure time. Nevertheless, parents are also exhausted after finishing their work. It will not cost much energy and time to assist parents in finishing housework.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my opinion that children are supposed to assist their parents to do some household chores because it is not only beneficial for them to enhance their living techniques but also contributes to improving their intimate family relationships.