Should children spend most of the time playing and studying or they should be required to help the family

with household chores,like cooking and cleaning.

Raising and teaching children well is the responsibility of the parents. Some think children should just play and study when they are little, while others think children should be required to do household chores. From my perspective, I support the latter.

To begin with, training children to do the house chores enables them to have basic skill to live comfortable alone. When children grow up, they are sure to leave their parents and live on themselves. Nobody will take care of their living anymore. If the children still don't know how to do the chores such as mopping the floor and doing the dish, they might find it hard to maintain an ordered lifestyle and their life may be a chaos. For example, I have trained to cleaning the floor, doing the dishes and throwing the garbage since I was young. When I entered the university, these techniques enable me to maintain a clean house and enjoyable living environment as I lived alone outside. By contrast, if my parents just wanted me to study or play, I would face lots of trouble when I lived alone. Hence, asking children to do the housework is actually beneficial to children in the long run.

Last but not least, doing the household enables children to cultivate the value of the perseverance. Everyone must admit that doing household chores is not an interesting thing because the process is monotonous and tiring. Though it's really boring, it actually trains people to stand with this unwillingness. If people face difficulty in the future, they are more able to stand with stress and try to overcome the obstacles. For example, because of the training of doing house chore since I was young, I tend to persist more longer than others when facing the difficulty, which makes me to easier achieve my goal. When I prepare for the big exam, I could study longer than others even though it's a tiring task. That is owing to being more able to stand with the unwillingness which I usually face when I asked to do the housework. Hence, the value of perseverance could be acquired through doing housework, which couldn't get by just playing and studying.

Irrefutably, some assert only thing children need to do is to play and study because household chores can be done by parents. However, what they neglect is that parents couldn't always accompany their children. Hence, this basic skill should be cultivated since they were young, so they would feel easier when they live alone. That's why I still think doing housework for children is important.