Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandal is like a lust. It attracts people’s eyes help focus the attention from the public that no speaker or reformer ever do. As far as I am concerned, it results from following reasons.

Although some might argue that scandal is a negative information which is not appropriate to pervade or even promulgate among the society. They are afraid of the occasionally wrong information could affect citizen’s opinion and behavior. However, what they neglect is that scandal shows the ugly or dark side of humanity which doesn’t expose to others easily. Realizing this kind of reality is really important because after one starts working in the society , this unfairness and malice is something that he or she has to face. For example, Sulli, a Korean popular singer, committed suicide in 2019 because of the cyber bully in the internet. It drawn everyone attention and force government and the society to enact stricter law to prevent from this kind of malice to damage any other’s mental health.

In addition, gossiping and whispering other’s scandal is human’s nature. Who doesn’t like to know other’s secret or something that one tries to hide. Although it seems a little inappropriate for others to know other’s secret. However, usually by knowing from other’s experience can people know better about how to face or prevent the same experience in the future. For example, It can be often seen that some celebrity is caught to the jail or fine for illegal usage of drug. Although this negative information might make us feel uncomfortable for that nobody is willing to know infelicitous news, however, it truly ingrains the opinion that it is not worthwhile taking the drug just for the ephemeral happiness and the consequence is too heavy for one to take , which in fact successfully threaten people from breaking the law.

All in all, despite of some drawback from the scandal, it is truly powerful when it comes to focusing people attention to the problem. Additionally, it truly teach people a unforgettable lesson in a more different and effective way.