In times of an economic crisis, in which area should governments reduce its spending?

1. Arts 2. Scientific research 3. Parks and public gardens.

As an economic crisis becomes substantial gradually, governments are likely to adopt the strategy of cost reduction. Arts, scientific research, and parks are three options for governments to cut down on the spending in. Which one is the most suitable option? From my perspective, I think art is the answer to the question.

In the first place, extremely few people consider arts a significant part of their daily lives. Since most people are occupied with working, they don't have sufficient leisure time to appreciate the works in art galleries. For instance, according to a survey in my country, the average number of people entering an art museum one day is about 50, whereas the capacity of the museum is supposed to be 500. Such phenomenon demonstrates that people's need for arts is far less than governments used to expect. Therefore, cutting down on the spending on arts does not compromise the citizens' life quality tremendously. With a view to both alleviating the stress caused by economic crisis and taking people's need into consideration, governments should consider arts the highest priority for cost reduction.

Secondly, investments in arts cannot yield considerable profits. A prodigious amount of money has to be spent on preserving the fragile artworks. Such expenditures are much heavier than the incomes derived from the investments. To be specific, costs of electricity in museum and hiring art experts are 10 thousand US dollars, but the incomes coming from tourists' tickets are only 1 thousand US dollars. If the investments in arts are not worthwhile, they can not solve the problem of economic crisis. Therefore, governments are supposed to utilize the limited money on areas that have potential to increase incomes rather than arts. For example, money spent on scientific research stimulates the development of technological industries, which brings profits 10 times more than costs.

Lastly, private companies are even more likely to make profitable investments in arts compared with governments. Many enterprises have abundant experience in business, which is due to their aims to maximize profits. If they take on the responsibility for encouraging arts in the country, their performance will definitely be better than unexperienced governments'. Consider the issue of staff management, private companies know how to hire a group of experts proficient in maintenance of art works with relatively low personnel costs. In this way, the companies can gain incomes, and governments can save funds for solving financial problems while ensuring the quality of art industries in the country. Such win-win situation justifies governments' decisions to reduce the expenses of arts.

Undeniably, some people may argue that governments should avoid decreasing the investment in art. For example, spending money providing a favorable environment for artists draws international attention to the country. Nevertheless, international research seminars and green park construction are also methods that elevates the country's status in the world. Accordingly, I think it is reasonable for governments to spend less on arts.