The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests that students in Parson city receives better education because of the more money from the investment of government. However ,the readers need further proof to verify the argument offered by the author.

The author suggests that the majority of money comes from the government. Still, the exact amount of money is needed to be provided here. If the governments of Trillura has used to not giving support to the local school, even, that the proportion of money spent on the school in Parson city is slightly higher than other regions can be considered by author “the majority”. Hence, the main source of the money may come from the business or company.

The author also claims that the money spent on education in Parson city is twice as much as that of in Blue city recently. Nevertheless, it is hard to really indicate that Parson city is more focused on the education of teenagers. It is likely that in previous years there are more money and resources is given to the school in Blue city. Hence ,it is not necessary for the government to support the development of education. For example, if the air conditioner in the class , the blackboard and screen were already replaced with the whole new ones and because this kinds of equipment are not easily broken or damaged in short period , there is no need for government to spend money to renew them. Hence, though the money is not needed, the government in Blue city is still willing to support the local, which may mean that government in Blue city place a higher value on providing a good education. Hence, what we need is a long term statistics for the expense on education.

The author also thinks the more money means well education is received. However, what he neglect is that money doesn’t mean everything. The problem of the school may lie on the unprofessional teacher. Even if you give more money to improve the school environment, the students cannot receive the good education. Hence, to improve the education lies on the comprehensive understanding of what school neglect rather just provide the money.

To strengthen the argument, the author would have to provide more information as above mentioned.