The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that it is necessary to implement electronic monitor to improve the overall profits and forster a better work ethic at Climpson. However, author fails to address several assumption.

The author claims that employee who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identify and punished. Still, the assumption here is that using Internet doesn’t necessarily mean they involve themselves in personal or recreational activities. It is likely that the usage for Internet is to send an email to a very important clients. Even if workers are found entering the recreational pages or games website, it doesn’t indicate they are goofing around. It is possible that the recreational advertisement is bumped up from the website they are reading. Then, accidental touching the advertisement can lead them enter the page that they are not purposed going to. Furthermore, monitoring the Internet usage may transgress one’s duty of the job or find something that is ought not to be known by other workers. If the financial accountant is dealing with the wages of the workers in the firm, monitoring what others doing can lead to find others’ private information, which is not appropriate.

The author also suggest that by installing software to detect employees’ Internet use on company computers can prevent them from wasting time. However, It is possible that it might reduce efficiency for workers with the monitors. The rule or regulation provided by the firm might be too complicate, resulting to that it takes lots of time for workers to access the Internet. Also, it might lead to being late for the workers to participating in the online conference for the complicate process for using the Internet.

The author also thinks that by monitoring the usage of Internet can forster a better work ethic. However, indeed spending time on recreational activities is not appropriate, but monitoring one’s behavior can lead to spread the fear among the workers and may damage the mental health of the employees, which contravene to the work ethic too.

To strengthen the argument, author needs to address the assumptions as above mentioned.