[Claim] Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. [Reason] It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

I strongly disagreed that governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive on the grounds that it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Cultures, being a country’s symbol and spirit, permeate the whole country. If the governments only pay their attention to the cities, they are bound to lose a lot of the quintessential of the country’s culture. For example, in Taiwan, hospitality is of great importance in our culture. However, this kind of warmth has being tempered by a sense of alienation in big cities like Taipei, the capital of Taiwan, due to the commercialism and the hectic pace of city life. If the government provides a lot of financial support to Taipei simply because Taipei is the capital, thus the political and economic center of Taiwan, we will unfortunately lose a lot of culture treasure of this country.

On the other hand, focusing on big cities will likely to leave the country in a state of stagnation. While, at first glance, financing big cities will help boost the economy of the whole country, big cities are highly developed areas where huge improvements are not easily made. Areas other than cities, though being easily ignored, has a lot of cultural potential that can be further developed. Taiwan government has a plan called “One town, one characteristic,” which helps each town discover its own characteristic, turn it into business, and finally boost the economy.

Finally, equality is also important. The situation that poverty-stricken, undeveloped areas become more poor and affluent, highly developed areas become wealthier will pose a threat to the stability of the country, especially when this is caused by the governments supporting the cities due to their cultural traditions. This is not only an economic and cultural problem, but a matter of discrimination, which may stirs (stir) great turmoil in the country.

Thus, it is inappropriate for governments to give financial support to major cities owing to their more preserved and generated cultures.