It is more harmful to compromise one’s own beliefs than to adhere to them

From my point of view, sometimes, it is best to adhere to other's beliefs when it comes to consideration of group communal utility or prevention of damage the relationship of each other. However, it is encouraged to express our opinion; even, we may compromise other's belief when the circumstances involve some ethical issues or our own benefits.

It's more appropriate to place ourselves behind others when we work in a tea. As a team of members, we surely have different ideas or beliefs. Nevertheless, sticking to our own ideas won't help to deal with problems successfully. Instead, it will only result in total chaos. Not only can't the problem be dealt with, but also there will be some fights between each other, which results in an unpeaceful atmosphere between each team member. For example, it's common to find that there are always different opinions about what the direction of the country should be led to between each political party. However, often, no party is willing to hold their opinions back in order to make things work out more successfully so that inefficiency of the government is what we get in the end.

Nonetheless, when the situation involves some ethical or law issues, we certainly need to insist on our own beliefs. For example, if a good friend of yours asks you to steal things from convenience stores, refusing him is the best policy. In addition, if we face the circumstance that will make you feel really uncomfortable,

it is advised to say no and consider your own benefit first. For example, imagine there's a race tomorrow and you just hurt your knee. However, your teacher still wants you to participate in it for the honor of the whole class. Hence, in this case, the last thing you is to obey your teacher's opinion. You need to insist on withdrawing from the race for fear of increasing the severity of your wound and stick to your own benefits rather than let others compromise your utility.

All in all, whether sticking to our own beliefs or not really depends on the different situations we are faced with. Carefully deciding how we need to react is a really important thing that we have to learn by heart.