Imagine that your city government has permitted a major company to build a large factory near your neighborhood. Do you think this is a good idea? Why or why not? Explain your position using specific reasons and examples.

With the fast growth of the industry, factories expand swiftly and require more areas. Some people agree that the government should permit the company to have a factory near their neighborhood, while others refuse to construct a factory beside their living space. As far as I'm concerned, I support the latter.

To begin with, constructing a large factory compromises the environment and the life used to live there. When building a new factory, a new area is needed. The company must erase the all trees and life in the area. Many animals have no choice but to flee away to find other habitats. In fact, most of the animals couldn't find the ideal place and might face the danger of extinction. For example, the Amazon forest once was full of abundant animals and trees. However, because more and more companies need space for constructing factories, more and more natural environments give way to these buildings. In the end, creatures are hard to survive. The environment is damaged as well. Hence, if the government allows the new factory to be built, they could be treated as an indirect murderer of nature. That's because the government permits the damage to the environment happening, which could, in fact, be stopped by them. Hence, constructing a big factory should be opposed and not accepted.

Last but not least, having a large factory near our neighborhood can reduce the quality of residents' life. Factories produce varieties variety of pollution. If residents just live next to the factories, they have no choice but to endure this uncomfortable living environment, which results in having an unbearable life. For example, if a large oil factory locates beside the resident's house, he may need to stand for poor air quality every day due to the release of the toxic chemical during the processing of oil. In the long run, he may have cancer or throat problems. Or, factories can make unbearable noises when the machines are working. This will cause the resident to have a sleeping problem and negatively affect his life quality. Hence, to save their health and have an enjoyable life, people should keep these factories away from their living environment and stop the government to make a horrible decision.

Irrefutably, some people might argue that building a factory can help boost the economy because it offers more opportunities for workers to find jobs. However, what they neglect is that this means we have to sacrifice our natural environment and damage the life living in it. Also, the residents' life there can be spoiled. Thus, in my opinion, the government shouldn't allow the construction of the factory.