It is as important for older people to study and learn new things as it is for young people.

"Learning is the lifelong goal" is often cited in magazine or the books. Some think it's important for older people to study and learn new things as it is for young people, while others disagree with it. From my perspective, I support the latter.

To begin with, most of older people are retired and don't need to compete in the work, so it is not important for them to acquire new skills or knowledge. In young people, competitiveness is an important key values. If people stop learning, it will be easier for them to be replaced by others, which causes them not to be able to get promoted or even be fired in work. In contrast, older people are retired. They don't work anymore, so learning new things is no longer a priority for them. For example, my grandfather was an IT worker in the past. after he retires, he don't need to search the new skills and information on the Internet any more. He can enjoy his tea time and explore his interest without standing with the heavy pressure from the newly competitive generations during the work. Hence, in my opinion, older people don't oblige to learn new things like the young generations.

Last but not least, older people don't have to study and learn new things because of their decreasing ability in learning. When human gets older, more cells of the brain would die. Without a great number of neural cells, people are not able to learn and react fast. This make it hard for elderly to learn efficiently compared to young people. For example, Smartphone have been created for several years. I still remember I just spent less an hour to get acquainted with the device when I first used it. However, My grandmother has still not been used to it since we presented her the phone last year. She always forgot how to use the interface to dial the phone after we taught her for several times. Hence, it's not necessary for elderly to learn new things as for the young people.

Irrefutably, some might assert that older people need to learn new things because they will think life is boring if they don't have new things or incentives in their life. However, what they neglect is that it's hard for older people to learn new things. That might be a burden for them. Hence, I still think it is not as critical for older people to study and learn new things as it is for young people.