Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people’s hearts or minds.

As far as I am concerned, I strongly disagree that many problems can be solved by laws and the legal system. There are the following reasons that can support my opinion.

Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds. Law can only circumscribe the behavior of someone. However, solving the core of the problem, it may not help at all. For example, there was a scandal that a worldwide-known food company produces food with already used oil, which results in rage among the consumers in Taiwan. After the event occurred, the company was scolded for their dishonesty, fined lots of money for compensation, and even their leaders are put into jail. However, no improvement was changed after this event and the company still keep on selling their food without any regret. This suggests nothing can change if we don't change the opinion and beliefs in ones.

Some people might argue that the law still has its power when it comes to preventing illegal behavior and maintaining fairness among people. However, what they neglect is that with the rapid growth of the technology, more and more complicated or new problems emerge, resulting in failing to enact the laws in time to solve the problem. Or, the legislators aren't well-studied about the newly emerged problems so that there are still many problems in the policy they propose.

Finally, the law is the lowest standard for our ethics. Not breaking the law doesn't mean the person doesn't do anything wrong. For example, when we sit on the bus and there's an old lady carrying a heavy bag without a seat, it is appropriate for us to give our seat to the lady. If we don't do it, it's also fine for not violating the law. However, that's unethical. It will result in a bad atmosphere in society and become a big problem eventually.

All in all, in my opinion, it is not adequate to just rely on the laws and the legal system for solving the problems in a modern city.