Is it as important for older people to learn and new things as it is for young people?

Through history, people have been trying to improve themselves physically and mentally. Thereby, they have put a lot of effort to find different methods to achieve this goal. One of the solutions to this issue is reading and learning, but the contentious question which arises here is whether it is important that elderly people learn something new and read as it is for younger people. It is my firm conviction that learning and reading for elderly people is as important as it is for younger people because of following elaborated reasons.

The first noteworthy reason is that reading and learning is act as exercise for the brain and makes the brain stronger. To put it differently, not only will learning and reading lead to higher mental abilities but also it will help to have a healthier mind. According to the recent studies at the University of Harvard, as people learn something new or read regularly the number of neurons of their brain increases which means that they would have a more powerful brain which will be able to do more complex task. Moreover, based on recent studies, statistics demonstrate that these kind of activities decrease the possibility of forgetting things which is a kind of disease named Alzheimer which is more prevailing among elderly people. Taking a personal experience as an example, during some days of my life, due to struggling with some problems, I could not read or learn something new; as a result, I had a lot of difficulties recalling all kind of information which I was given.

The second equally important reason which worth some words is that reading and learning will let the elder people to socialize far better because of the higher confidence which they acquire as they learn something new which will enable to do their required activities. As people become older they become more alone, and they need to socialize more than ever which help them to be happier and this result in being less exposed to depression. For this reason, by reading something new the older people will have a new topic to talk about and socialize more and have a happier time talking to others about what they had learned. Moreover, as people share something which they had learn and see that this knowledge has come in handy for others, feel much better about themselves and this way they will reach to a higher level of confidence. For instance, I can vividly remember the day which my grandfather was telling us the story of the book which he had read recently and her eyes were shining because was proud of himself because he thought that he has been able to make us more joyful.

To bring everything into conclusion, the reading and learning will let elderly people to accomplish a stronger and healthier mind. Moreover, these kind of activities will end up in higher levels of confidence for them. It is highly recommended that older people learn something new and read continuously because people at these ages are highly susceptible to some mental diseases which can be avoided using these activities. The abovementioned reasons are the ones convincing me to culminate in this idea.