It is as important for old people to study and learn new things as it is for young people.

With the development of the society, new technologies are booming, forcing people to keep update to advanced improvements. While young people are adept at studying new things in a relatively short time, it is often difficult for the elderly to acquire new skills and learn novel things. However, from my perspective, it is important for old people to learn new things as it is for the young generation.

Firstly, if old people fail to keep up with the development of the society, they would be left behind by it and have a hard time living in the modern society. Nowadays, technologies are advancing at an unprecedented rate. For example, mobile phones companies upgrade their products annually and constantly add new features in each update. Therefore, people always have to learn how to use the latest functions offered by the phone company; otherwise, they are not able to enjoy those fansy features. Take my grandfather as an example. He was not interested in modern technologies like many other old people, so he was unwilling to learn new features of his phone as young people do. But there was a time when he forgot to bring his wallet as he was in the market, he was frustrated that he could not use the phone to pay because the payment feature in his phone was not activated. After that, he tried to study his phone more often and got lots of help from the phone.

Additionally, learning new things help old people to keep the pace with young people, thus eliminating the generation gap. The generation gap occurs when young people’s understanding are different than that of the old generation, often triggered by the different acceptance to new things. The traditional thinking of old people would conflict with the modern way of thinking of young people if the former group does not change their mindset. Take me and my parents as an example. My parents used to reproach me for purchasing cartoon exhibits and toys because they thought they were useless and waste-of-money. But as they watched the cartoon that I recommended to them, they found it interesting too and even supported me to buy more exhibits. In this way, as my parents learned new things and recognized their values, the generation gap between us were gradually eliminated.

To sum up, old people should learn new things just as young people, because they want to keep up with the enhancement of the modern society and eliminate the generation gap with young people.