The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably.

There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests that it's important to enact a policy like Garville's to solve the traffic problem. However, a few pieces of evidence need to be established before a choice as the policy can be made.

The author suggests that the time now it takes on commuting increase twice as much as three years ago. Still, the author fails to inform the validity of the statistics he got. What if the statistics is just based on some unreliable information online. Even if the author truly carried out the experiment on his own, it is still possible that it was Chinese New Year when he conducted the experiment so that there was heavy traffic at that time due to the custom for Chinese to go back to their home and celebrate it together. In Contrary, when he did the experiment three years ago, it might be in the midnight so that there were no too many cars on the roads. Hence, author needs to provide more information about the statistics he get to complete his idea.

The author also suggests that the pollution level and the time spent on commuting decreased significantly after they had encouraged people went to work with bike rather than with car. However, what he neglect is that what proportion is reduced after implementing the policy. If the reduction is only about one percent, it is clear that it has little help in solving the problem. Also, he claims that the time spent on commuting decreased, but does that mean time spent on commuting for all people in this area decrease? Maybe the statistics only focus on the people who still commute with car and neglect the people who choose to go to work with bike.

It is evident that it takes much more time for those with further working space to go to work with bike. If taking car is ten times faster than riding bike, the time that the worker needs to arrive at their working space can be enormously much more. Hence, it is possible that he will be scolded by his boss and even got fired, resulting in bigger disadvantage.

Consequently, to make the argument more convincing, the author needs to provide more information to strengthen his argument.