Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “People should keep trying to reach their goals, even if they seem impossible to achieve.” Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

People must have their own goal which may be hard to achieve or easy for them in their life. Speaking of a seemingly impossible goal, some might give up, while some still try to reach it. As far as I am concerned, people should insist on pursuing their goals and never give in to failure.

To begin with, people are able to learn lots of things through pursuing their goals even that it seems hard to achieve. In fact, in most of the time, it is the process instead of the result that matters. People often learn more and be able to acquire different techniques while trying to reach their goals. For example, we all know GPA matters a lot in applying for the college. If now there's a student with a really low GPA but wants to study in MIT. It seems impossible for him to receive application. However, He still strive hard by working hard on his research with the professor and becoming an intern in well-known firm. Regardless of whether he gets the application or not, he indeed learn a lot and has lots more experiences than a common student. Hence, although the goal is hard to achieve, we are able to acquire lot of knowledge and experience. That's already worthwhile no matter the result is bad or not.

Last but not least, people can be more matured in the process of catching their goals. We all know reaching an impossible is an arduous task. However, it is through experiencing this process can help our mind be tougher, determined and calm. Take the student with the low GPA as an example again. Though, he knows he has little chance to be accepted by MIT. Nevertheless, through the training under the professor and the experience in the firm, he is mellower and able to handle many difficult problems on his own. For example, he used to become extremely panic if he hadn't finished his work while the deadline came close. However, now he is able to cope with the task calmly and finish it efficiently. Hence, it is the obstacles on the way to the goal that helps people to grow a lot. Even if the goal seems impossible, people still benefit a lot while pursuing their goals.

Irrefutably, some might oppose that people should strive for the impossible goal. They think it is a waste of time and that people should change a easier goal to ensure the result is good. Still, what they neglect is that all the physical and mental benefits acquiring during the process is the more valuable than the good result. Hence, in my opinion, people should keep trying to reach their goals even if they seem impossible to achieve.