If your friend wants to reduce living expenses, which would you suggest?

1. Find a roommate that can share the living expenses.

2. Buy the new technology products less frequently.

3. Shop for less expensive food and cooking at home

Currently, with the process of inflation, an increasing number of commodities’ prices are continuously rising, which cuts in students’ budget and requires them to reduce their living expenses. Some individuals reckon that it is a preferred choice to purchase newly-emerging products less frequently due to skyrocketing price at emergence, while others contends that cooking at home can help us to reduce extra cost. Personally speaking, I harbor the idea that the optimal option to reduce living expenses is finding a roommate to share the accommodation fee for reasons as follows.

To start with, finding a roommate is capable of reducing living expenses in a large extent. Nowadays, due to the sizzling economy, the rent fee, together with the prices of flats is continuously increasing, which imposes more burden on citizens, therefore, the rent fee takes up a large part in a student’s monthly cost. Provided that a student can find a suitable roommate, half of the rent fee is saved, which significantly enables students to lower the cost. Compared to that, the newly-emerging products, although the price of which is extremely high, avoiding purchasing new technology products is not conducive to reduce living expenses since it accounts merely a little in our living cost. Meanwhile, it is impossible for us to shop for less expensive food and cooking at home to save money. Specifically, although it seems that cooking at home is capable of saving money spent on paying fees for labor force working in restaurants, taking the the fees of electricity or other consumption, especially the time we devote to it, it is much expensive than purchasing food from restaurants.

What’s more, it is economical to share a flat with a roommate. To be more specific, sharing a house with a roommate, both of them can save a lot of money besides the rent fee, for instance, the fees of electricity, potable water or other affairs shared by them, which, in a large extent, ameliorates their financial situation. Apart from that, living with a roommate also contributes to our safety. Due to the ever-rising crime rate, it is inconvenient and dangerous to live alone without accompany of any friends or family members. Hence, provided that there is a roommate living with us, it can ensure that we can help with each other when we are confronted with potential attacks. Meanwhile, in case of emergence, such as migraine, pneumonia, cardiovascular diseases, a roommate ensures that we can be sent to adjacent hospital to receive instance curing instead of staying at home and being plagued with pains. In the contrary, living in a fast-paced society, it seems impossible to decrease the frequency of buying new technology products, since it is the most intriguing affairs that we human beings want to talk with others upholding the same interests in advanced technology. Additionally, the society full of competition also exerts negative influence on our health, thus if we choose to purchase less expensive food, it is likely to do harm to our physical health. And sometimes since we are usually occupied with countless work and school assignments seems impossible to achieve.

Admittedly, reducing the frequency of purchasing new products is beneficial for us to diminish needless money in living expenses and cooking at home also plays a crucial role in cutting costs, nevertheless, taking the disadvantages of those approaches, the perks of these two methods are outshone by the merits of sharing a flat with a roommate.

In a nutshell, from what has mentioned above, I would like to reiterate my opinion that I prefer to suggest my friends to reduce monthly cost through finding a roommate to share the rent fee since it is economical and efficient.