The more money people have, the more money they should give away to charity

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus the gap between the haves and have-nots is increasingly widening, which triggers some complaints and resentment toward the whole society. In regard to this situation, some individuals reckon that those people with wealthy assets are supposed to donate money to charity. Personally speaking, I concur with the opinion and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, the endowment enables those people in poor condition to maintain their basic lives. Concretely, due to their limit on aptitudes, they probably cannot find employment, thus without a steady income, they are lack of some basic necessities to accommodate their basic needs, which eventually gives rise to death or fatal diseases. However, with the funds distributed by charity, they can purchase some pieces of stuff to eat or wear, which enables them to get rid of the extreme poverty. Meanwhile, the donation also affords them to have checkups to prevent them from being plagued from some fatal diseases. With regard to the poor who already have some chronic diseases, the donation can prolong their lifespan, instead of letting them to be excruciated or enslaved by these illnesses. Furthermore, the endowment also enables the poor to improve their employable skills, for instance, they can be sponsored to enter vocational schools to sharpen their practical skills, like making diversified artifacts, which renders them a force that drives them out of poverty by themselves, compared to receiving the constant donation. Therefore, the donation can facilitate the lives of those people suffering poverty, not only through the direct allocation of money but also through its effects on honing their pragmatic skills to accumulate their own wealth.

What’s more, distributing money to charity also contributes to the stability of society. To be more specific, some individuals, who are suffering from extreme poverty, tend to harbor resentment toward the wealthy people, even the whole society. Driven by such terrible notions existing in their mind, they are likely to behave in some socially unacceptable ways. Some may launch attacks toward students, like a school shooting, while others probably enact kidnapping to charge for a lot of money from the wealthy. Even those poor people do not generate resentment, they sometimes are forced by the extremely poor situation to commit crimes, for instance, it is said that a bunch of robberies are committed for the sake of obtaining ten dollars to purchase a bun. The research conducted to evaluate the relationship between crime rate and wealth illuminates that the poorer a region is, the higher crime rate it has. Hence, from the above reason, the extreme poor poses a threat to the stability of society, which indicates that sufficient money ought to be donated from the wealthy to the poor so as to ensure the social security.

Admittedly, some individuals reckon that the assets the wealthy possess are their private wealth, nobody is entitled to require them to donate it and the wealthy are also not obliged to endow, nevertheless, taking the factor of social security and fundamental human rights into consideration, the deficiencies of endowment can be compensated by the perks brought by it.

In a nutshell, those people with more affluence ought to donate more money to charity so as to guarantee individuals fundamental human rights and maintain social stability.