Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own or read or watch the news presented by those whose views are different from your own.

One benefit resulting from the rapid progress of the world is the vast expansion of people's viewpoints, whether similar to yours or different. However, the limited personal time brought by the fast living pace forces people to choose between the two. Some may agree with the former, but I stand on the opposite side and believe that reading or watching news from those sharing different views carries more merits for the following reasons.

To begin with, critical thinking abilities could be quickly strengthened through such contact. Being one extremely important thinking pattern, critical thinking is becoming more and more valued, bringing about people's varied approaches to cultivate the ability. Despite all the relevant games and activities, reading or watching news should be better favored in that it is a process not only helping people to better understand the society, but also intensively training them to think on the opponents' side. This conflicting process pushes one to fast compare and contrast the similarities and dissimilarities between his or her own views and the different one. Plus, in order to persuade readers or audience, the 猜词互动 views are also organized and defended elaborately, which allows people to better understand the hidden rationality. Among all types of people, debaters are renowned for their powerful critical thinking abilities, so let's imagine their preparation work before a debate. Apart from the vast sources they need to consult to solidly defend their own position, more importantly, they must dig every possible counterargument as well as any reasonable argument their rivals may put forward, aiming at winning them as quickly as possible. All this effort is conducive to practicing their critical thinking. Things are similar to watching or reading news presented by people of different views. Even if common people do not have to search such big sources, the mental work stays similar: to know what, how, and why others think in different ways.

Furthermore, new promising opportunities may arise because of getting to know others' different opinions. People's viewpoints are formed based on their personal experience, which happened in the past. Whereas different from decades ago, rapid changes have become a prominent feature of modern society, so what fits yesterday may not fit today and knowing others' disparate ideas is one way to adjust our direction and seek new chances. Some may argue that others' opinions are also based on their past experience and thus become outdated, but do not forget the varying developmental level of each society, or even each region. Besides, some people hold different views because they get in touch with the most up-to-date techniques and industries, which makes it more necessary to understand such opinions. Numerous Chinese families' stories could well explain this point. Currently, most Chinese parents enjoy attending various activities regarding studying abroad, especially those with government background such as Education U.S.A. These organizations provide constructive suggestions and updated information from developed countries, which are frequently different from people's traditional opinions. One typical conflict faced by Chinese parents is the discrepancy between their limited budget and the high tuition fees in America. Most of the time, this could prevent a student from going abroad, but if this student and the parents listen to others' different views, they will know that the flexible education system in the U.S. allows students to study in community college in the first two years with much lower tuition fees and then switch to a university in the third year.

Admittedly, I am not saying that reading or watching news presented by people with similar views is without advantages, because this contributes to strengthening self-confidence. However, if viewed from another perspective, this carries a potential danger in that from the very beginning, people may be wrong. Plus, the prerequisite of holding a viewpoint is the strong reasoning behind, which one already has. Thus it is not that necessary to know to what extent others' opinions are similar to theirs. Instead, what is more important is to know why others hold different views, since it is this part that brings people progress.

In conclusion, it is high time that we put considerable emphasis on reading or watching the news presented by people of different views. On one hand, people could quickly build up their critical thinking abilities. On the other hand, one may enjoy better opportunities because of such listening.