Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours

A glance at people's attitude toward sources of news brings to a light question that has been asked several times, namely, whether learning news presented by people whose views are different from us or people who hold similar views. Were I forced to choose, I would prefer the former point of view to the latter one and I will elaborate on my reasons in the following essay.

The first reason worth mentioning is that reading or watching news presented by people whose views are different can be wholesome to personal development. To be more specific, everyone around us grew in a quite different environment, which cultivated them into different personalities. Learning from these differences can not only help us to expand our horizons but also develop the ability to communicate with people from different backgrounds. It can also strengthen the ability of critical thinking, which is significant in studying and working. Upon the arrival of the technological era, the invention and spread of the Internet also enable us to learn from others more conveniently.

The second crucial reason why I hold this opinion is that reading or watching the news from different views can help us correct our mistakes. In fact, everyone does things by following a nearly fixed pattern that is generated from our life habits. There will be much strong resistance if we want to overcome this fixed pattern without recognizing flaws of it. However, by learning different views, we can realize the shortcomings of the way we are thinking and doing and have a clear framework of how to fix them by referring to others' views. Take personal experience as an example, when I was playing the point guard in my school basketball team, I hardly ever control the turnovers I made during the games. Even I practiced my skills day after day, I still could not make big progress. At that time, my coach advised me to watch the famous guard, Stephen Curry, to learn how he watch his teammates' positions and do the right passes. After watching his videos for uncountable times and mimicking his way of playing for several months, I gradually changed my habits of doing risky passing decisions and learned to be calm at games. Had it not been learning from others' views, I could not be the starter guard in my school basketball team.

A voice arises that we can also learn from those similar views because it can help us strengthen the understanding of a certain area. This claim should be scrutinized meticulously. Learning from similar views has an obvious flaw, which will gradually fix our thinking model and make us hard to accept suggestions from others. As an old Chinese saying goes, there must have a teacher among people you are walking along with. Therefore, learning from different seems a better way to improve ourselves.

In conclusion, drawing reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly agree to read or watch news presented by people who have different views. While there are one thousand of Hamlets in one thousand of people’s eyes, I firmly believe my opponent will yield after being shown to my article.