Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only

A glance at people's attitude toward success brings to the light question that has been asked several times, namely, whether focusing on one skill leads us to achieve our goals or obtain various skillsets. Although someone claims that focusing on one skill is wholesome to become successful, upon the arrival of the technological era, I think obtaining different skillsets can help lift the possibility of being successful to another magnititude.

The first reason worth mentioning is that people cannot easily draw borders of science and make them separate from each other in contemporary. Like the branches of a tree, different subjects evolve in various directions but originate from the same place, and frequently influence each other. To be more specific, despite different names, the world of physics is not distinct from the world of English, we can not fully comprehend these physical concepts without contemplating the meaning of different symbols. All universities require students to take various courses to equip them with the most recent knowledge and information, which ensures their success. Therefore, learning more knowledge regardless of topics is a prerequisite of being successful.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that obtaining more skillsets can lower the risk of being jobless in an unpredicted environment. Taking the variation of popular majors in universities as an example, 20 years ago, the breakthroughs that happened in multiple fields aroused the interest of students to go to laboratories to do academic research. However, it is crystal clear that with the development of finance and the Internet, more and more companies choose to pay generous salaries to those who are good at computer skills. If a person wants to prepare him for an uncertain situation, it is better to gain information about different subjects rather than one. Hence, successful people are ready to increase their knowledge in diverse areas.

Admittedly, paying attention to a single area, more often than not, needs people to allocate most time to it, without changing their major frequently. However, it does not mean the person must not learn new ideas and broaden his horizon. Bill Gates, who established Microsoft company, which is a reputable business in the computer field, always mentions this notion that for being successful, 70% of your time should be spent on your specialized major, and the rest must be devoted to other related subjects. In fact, neither sacrifice your first major, nor the related topics, and set priority for yourself.

Due to the aforementioned argument in the previous statements, I highly recommend students to take various courses and learn all of them perfectly to get good outcomes. If they want to find their dream jobs, they should be aware that knowledge is a weapon.