Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and examples to su

Personal independence is an essential ingredient of characteristics. In recent days, whether today young people are equipped with better ability to make decisions about themselves independently compared with young people in the past has aroused some discussions. When it comes to my perspective, I firmly agree with this point of view and I will elaborate on what my perspectives are based on as follows.

First and foremost, today's better living conditions enable the young generation to extend their area of knowledge. Upon the arrival of the Internet era, with a single click on the keyboard, young people can get to know what they are curious about. Besides, the development of the Internet community provides ample opportunity for young people to share their experiences, which definitely helps them broaden their horizons and make decisions. However, though parents may have more social experiences, they may not fit for the rapidly changing world and can even affect their children to make wrong decisions.

Second, accompanied by the development of technology, the educational opinion also processed a huge change. More and more parents have the awareness of how important an independent personality means to children. Their children are encouraged to make decisions from tiny things in daily life to big moments in the key point of their life path. In the meantime, schools also set some courses to cultivate students to be more independent. For example, many colleges take social practice classes as compulsory so as to help students to engage in more social activities and make decisions by themselves. Some schools even give these classes a higher weight in the final graduation judgment. With the help from both parents and schools, the ability to make decisions of the young generation becomes better and better.

Another significant factor that pushes the progress of the independence of young people is the fierce social competition. Since the advance of the Internet, the whole society is changing at an unimaginable speed. Many things that are popular 3 years ago quickly become obsolete and were abandoned. And the information also soon becomes invaluable if they are not being utilized. The fast social pace force young people to make decisions immediately in order to avoid being replaced by other competitors. It is the strict social atmosphere that forces the young generation to enhance their ability to be independent.

In conclusion, according to the current conditions, educational opinions and social factors, I believe the young generation are better to make decisions about their lives.