If the school asks you to do a task that requires creativity, do you prefer working alone or working a group?

Currently, the whole society is putting considerable emphasis on the education, especially the upbringing related with creativity, thus a heated discussion is evoked that which is the leading choice to nurture or germinate students’ creativity, working alone or working as a group. A myriad of individuals harbor the idea that working alone can augment the chances of finishing the task requiring creativity smoothly. However, I cannot concur with the opinion. I am a firm advocate of working as a group and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, working as a group renders us a third-person angle, which ensures us a new perspective on certain issues. To be more specific, we, students, are accustomed to fulfilling the mandated school assignments in a fixed approach, hence, under this circumstance, we are inclined to fall into the stereotype that has already fostered and our creativity is stifled. Nevertheless, working with other classmates enables us to step out of our comfort zone. The more group members involved in this task, the more thoughts are exchanged with each other, which creates the ambiance that can germinate more sparkling ideas.

What’s more, other members engaging in the same task can not only act as teammates but also act as supervisors. It is widely acknowledged that there is a propensity that we want to find shortcuts or easy way out when required to tackle a problem, despite the requirement of creativity. Hence, provided that we finish this task all by individual’s efforts, it is more likely that we fail to achieve the prerequisite of creativity. On the contrary, working as a team, each team member, at the common aim of germinating creative ideas, will supervise each other and prevents others from slacking. Under the surveillance, all members involved in this group will make concerted and joint efforts to finish this task. Since the task can be delivered to each member, not only time but also energy can be saved, which makes us finish the task more efficaciously. Here is a case in the point. Once my school organized a design competition, all students could participate as groups or engage in individually. After stiff and fierce rivalry, the results of this competition finally came out. However, the results are astonishing since a majority of participants who obtained awards are teams, not those individual participants. In accordance with those winning participants’ experience, whenever they want to surrender old designs, their partners would tell to persist in delving into the newly-introduced designs, thus little by little, they eventually came up with their own exhilarating ideas, which constituted stepping stones in their success. This example illustrates that working as a group can help us augment the opportunities of stepping out of comfort zones.

Admittedly, working by an individual is not with merit. Just as the saying goes, too many cooks spoil the broth. Sometimes an individual can liberate himself from teammates’ constraint, nevertheless, if students involved in a group can employ interpersonal and communication skills to tackle their differences existing in their thoughts, this problem can be easily tackled.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my opinion that working as a group is the preferred option for us when we are mandated to fulfill a task requiring creativity because teammates enable us to come up with new and sparkling ideas and impede us from falling into the stereotype. Currently, the whole society is putting considerable emphasis on the education, especially the upbringing related with creativity, thus a heated discussion is evoked that which is the leading choice to nurture or germinate students’ creativity, working alone or working as a group. A myriad of individuals harbor the idea that working alone can augment the chances of finishing the task requiring creativity smoothly. However, I cannot concur with the opinion. I am a firm advocate of working as a group and my view can be substantiated as follows.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my opinion that working as a group is the preferred option for us when we are mandated to fulfill a task requiring creativity because teammates enable us to come up with new and sparkling ideas and impede us from falling into the stereotype.