Which one is the most important factor to help you work productively?

Having an environment which is free of noise and distractions

Knowing that you will receive a reward

Doing something you are interested in

Currently, the whole society has witnessed an unprecedented boom, thus people living in the society full of stiff and fierce competition are inclined to augment their working efficiency so as to avoid being deviated from the prosperous advancement of civilization. Under this circumstance, some individuals harbor the idea that having an environment which is free of noise and other distractions is their preferred option, while others reckon that driven by monetary rewards, their working productivity can be ameliorated in a large extent. Personally speaking, I cannot concur with the listed two opinions. I suggest that interest in a specific domain is and has always been the best motivator in driving up our working productivity.

To start with, an interest in a specific domain enables us to be wholly grossed in it, instead of getting distracted by other factors surrounding us. To be more specific, incentivized by the interest, we are more likely to immerse us with the projects that engage our interests, thus other affairs happening to the surrounding have no relevance in us, which absolutely augments our working efficiency. On the contrary, with regard to the environment free of noise and distractions, it makes no sense in elevating our working efficiency. Although there is no time-waster, such as mobile phone notification, social media and things like that, available for us to kill time, we still have other alternatives instead of working efficaciously to fulfill the projects. For instance, individuals who are burdened with the procrastination effect probably just retard the process of fulfilling the projects. In other words, giving a tranquil and serene environment cannot force us to improve efficiency by tearing us apart from distractions.

What’s more, an interest also provides us with energy so that we are more devoted to finishing the mandated tasks given by superiors. When dealing with the projects related to our interests, there is a propensity that we focus on the process of tackling problems with no more attention can be paid on time or energy. Thus, when we finish the tasks, we will not be enslaved with a sense of frustration and exhaustion. While in terms of the material rewards given as momentum, nowadays, the middle class is continuously escalating and each city dweller is enjoying the accumulation of material affluence, therefore, when confronted with material rewards, they will weigh the pros and cons, then make their final decisions. It is investigated that the majority of citizens will not engage in the tasks or highly focus on the projects that fail to spark their interests.

Admittedly, an interest’s great effects on improving working efficiency do not mean that other alternatives are without merits. For instance, giving rewards sometimes can exert advantageous effects on those people who are in imperative needs. Nevertheless, it is more plausible and applicable for majorities of city dwellers to motivate them by their interests.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my opinion that interest is and has always been the optimal stimulus for us to ameliorate our working efficiency since it liberates us from the constraints of distractions and provide us with sufficient energy to combat with pop-up tasks.