Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about the events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they affect your daily life.

In every second, there are countless events happening around the whole world, whether affecting our daily life or not. Meanwhile, due to the rapid expansion of the Internet, it's convenient for us to acquire tons of such kind of information. However, whether to have a knowledge of the entire events occurring in the world has become a hot issue. Some individuals reckon that it's a must for us to know about all affairs in order to catch up with the trend, while the others hold contradictory views that it's not essential to know such kind of irrelevant news. As far as I'm concerned, I can't agree more with the first kind of opinion. There are several reasons accounting for my point of view.

First, during the process of globalization, the different segments of the world are closely associated with each other, which indicates that all the tiny affairs engaging in other regions may potentially exert a profound influence on our daily life. Take the inheritance tax as an example, although so far China has not levied this kind of tax, there are increasing numbers of experts suggesting to impose the inheritance tax on the rich, which has already been levied in several regions in other parts of the world, in order to improve the living conditions of the poor and narrow down the widening gap between the haves and have-nots. By having a knowledge of the inheritance tax that is currently implemented in other regions, people are capable of predicting the future changes in China resulted by the taxation. Hence, due to the potential influence that engaging affairs in other regions may exert on us, raising the awareness of events happening around the world does enable us to predict the future life we will be confronted with and make full preparation to handle the potential changes.

Moreover, keeping pace with currently occurring incidents is an excellent approach for us to widening our outlook. The vastness of the world creates an ocean of stuff we have never seen or come across. While, in the process of having a knowledge of the happening affairs, these kinds of experience helps us to expand our horizon of knowledge, which may put us in a competitive advantage situation. For instance, Jack Ma, who now is one of the richest merchants in China, predicted that there was a large potential of the development of e-commerce by keeping in pace with the development of e-commerce in various areas in the 1990s and he, based on China's actual conditions at that time, seized the opportunity to create China's e-commerce platform named Taobao. It's self-explanatory that Jack Ma's success can't be separated from his intention to have a knowledge of the entire events occurring in the world and that is why keeping pace with the current affair is of crucial significance.

Admittedly, some individuals might contradict my opinion by considering attaining information, which seems irrelevant to us, as an utter waste of time. Nevertheless, the time we spend on viewing the worldwide events is a worthy investment, not only for our current life but also for making plans for the future.

In a nutshell, having a knowledge of the incidents around the world is a necessity, which is beneficial for our life in all aspects.