Do you agree or disagree with the following statement : Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

Currently, with the fast advancement of technology, there is an increasing number of news practitioners emerging in society, including a bunch of personal social media accounts with millions of followers and things like that. However, this phenomenon has triggered a heated discussion about the accuracy of news compared to the news in the past and the aftermath evoked by the inaccurate news. Personally speaking, I harbor the idea that the accuracy is absolutely decreasing drastically and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To begin with, nowadays, due to the explosion of news agency or new practitioners, the news market is saturated with fierce competitions, not only the conglomerates are struggling to survive or thrive in the competition, but also new practitioners are endeavoring to seize the employment opportunities instead of becoming the individuals sacrificed during the downsizing of corporations. Hence, in order to compete for higher market shares, they play tricks to elevate the clicking rate of the news produced by them. Some of them publish news without further verification of the accuracy or the source of it, while some of them even employ the method to generate fake news, such as news related with geopolitical events, politician scandals or something else, which take advantage of public emotions and inflame citizens’ annoyance to create problem of social stability. Based on this phenomenon, some news agencies established without well-organized staff, are likely to plagiarize from those companies making fake news. Little by little, the whole news industry is filled with inaccurate news and fewer news agencies continue reporting the news with verification.

What’s more, the threshold of news practitioners is also decreasing. To put it more specifically, in the past, only the journalists with licenses issued by the authority can collect first-hand information from the spots and collate this information to report the news in their magazines, newspapers or official websites. On the contrary, nowadays, some individuals just employ their private social media account, such as the equivalent of Facebook in China, Wechat, to deliver the news. It has been investigated by Beijing Youth that more than 67% of news spread in moments is fake. Nevertheless, lots of receivers who are in dearth of the capacity to discriminate the news from true or fake are suffering from the world-sweeping fake news. Meanwhile, there is an increasing number of individuals utilizing the fake news to cheat innocent users to purchase their commodities produced without practicing licenses issued by the Bureau of producing.

Admittedly, the regime is now taking firm measures to regulate the phenomenon mentioned in the article, for instance, they are endeavoring to enact legislation to implement stringent surveillance on news agencies and those licenses of journalists who publish fake news will be withdrawn as punishments for their illegal behaviors. Nevertheless, it seems that those measures fail to do the tricks since the inaccurate news is continuously created and circulated, which undoubtedly causes troubles to social security and stability.

In a nutshell, the news is not as accurate as that in the past, owing to the irresponsible news agencies who reckon that the higher market shares carrying more weight than the accuracy of news and the plummeting threshold of news practitioners. Thus, social stability is challenged by the world-sweeping fake news and the fake news has haunt citizens for months, even years, which is of great detriment to the society’s advancement.