Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problems to the public.

Recently, there are more and more news people can obtain than before. However, lots of them may less concern about the truth of news than in the past.

First, media want to become successful due to the fierce competition among media. As the increasing number of information in daily life, people are more likely to focus on the news which is more unique and attractive than a normal one. In this way, the media in order to make more money through the readers they may exaggerate the fact of news or even make up a fake one, which have bad impact on the society. For instance, last month, an information was posed on the Internet, it said that there would be a huge earthquake happened in Sichuan. When people saw this news, everyone was extremely nervous and afraid. Thus, plenty of people went out and sleep outside for a hole night. Nevertheless, it turned out it was a fake news made by a teenager through his imagination. Accordingly, news we see today is less accurate than the news in the past.

Second, now this is a we media era, everyone are able to post information on the Internet. Previously, news only can be posted on the newspapers and certain programs on the TV, which are under supervision of the government. Back to 50 years ago, if Chinese wanted to attain news, reading newspaper was the only way. In this case, most of news were really true. On the contrary, there is not any organizations to revise the messages on the Internet. Even though some of them are real, some of them are false. Therefore, the news is less genuine than before.

Finally, nowadays, people read news just for fun so they do not care about the accuracy of the information. In contrast, people were more concerned about the news of the society even the whole world than these days. Besides, if they found out something wrong they would tell the government or the media, which was helpful to improve the truth of the news. Hence, media in today may focus on the fact of the news less than the previous news.

As the three reasons I have mentioned above, it is easy to draw the conclusion that recently, news is becoming more unreliable than them back then.