Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: the most important problems we face today can be solved in our lifetime?

During our whole life, we have to face all kinds of difficulties and problems. However, in my opinion, people cannot solve the most important problems in several areas that we confront in our lifetime.

First of all, speaking of environment, there are still lots of severe problems remaining. As we know, people have spent decades exploring clear energy resources. Although people have found a few clear energy resources such as solar energy, tide energy and nuclear energy and so forth, actually people cannot put these energy resources put into use very well. For example, a nuclear power plant in Japan exploded in 2011 and an amount of radiations released into oceans, which caused huge environmental pollution even influenced nearby countries like Korea and China. Until now, 8 years have been passed, there are still amounts of radiations existed in the environment, though plenty of people have tried their best to reduce the pollution. According to the reports, the radiations cannot be cleared up in hundreds of years. Thus, some of important environmental issues will exist longer than people’s lifetime.

Besides, in term of medicine, doctors are not able to deal with some questions even in their whole life. For one thing, there are some existing serious diseases that cannot be healed around the world such as cancer and AIDS. For another, there always are new viruses and disease coming about in a period of time. Even though doctors make great efforts and they are capable of curing all these sicknesses in one day, people cannot avoid death. As time goes by, people will get older and their physical conditions become much worse than before, then they will die without pain. This is why people are not able to resolve the most vital issues during their lifetime.

As the two reasons mentioned above, it is easy to reach the conclusion that the most important questions that people confront with will not be fixed throughout their life. Nonetheless, due to these problems, people will be motivated to make progress in the future and then everybody can live a better life.