Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: nowadays people are more willing to rely on themselves and family help and less willing to rely on the government when they meet problems.

With the efforts of the government, the whole society is getting better day by day. As far as I am concerned, recently, people are more likely turn to the government for help when they are in trouble rather than resolve the problems by themselves or their family members.

First, in terms of environment problems, people depend more on the government than themselves and family. As we know, the environment is becoming worse than before. For example, there are more and more air pollution in the atmosphere, which is very bad for people’s health. In the past, people could do a few things such as riding bikes to reduce the air pollution. Although people had tried their best, it was not effective. However, the government set up a new law to prohibit factories to produce carbon dioxide, sulfur dioxide and so forth. Besides, the government also set up natural reserves to protect the environment. Clearly, these things only can be done by the government and it is much helpful. Thus, people prefer to rely on the government to solve the problems.

Second, speaking of public transportation, the government is more reliable than people themselves and their family help. Previously, if people wanted to go to out, they just could walk or ride bikes. It was labor-consuming and time-consuming for them to go to a place that is far away from their home. Now, there are various kinds of public transportation such as subway, train and air plane for people to choose because the government’s development. It is much easier for people to go to any places than before. In this way, people don need to worry about how to go to distant places. Therefore, people are more willing to depend on the government than themselves and family members for help.

Last, health is another factor that people prefer to depend on the government. Obviously, health is one of the most important things for everyone because people can do nothing without a healthy body. In the past, people had no choice but to rely on their own or the caring from their family when they were sick. As time goes by, treatment becomes better than before due to the government’s fund. In this case, people are able to go to hospitals to cure their diseases which cannot be healed back then. Accordingly, asking the government for help when people confront with troubles is their first choices.

As the three reasons mentioned above, it is easy to draw the conclusion that when people meet problems they like to rely on the government instead of themselves and family members these days.