Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

The government should support scientific research that does not have any practical use.

Once there was a famous saying, “science and technology are the primary productive forces.”Indeed, science and technology help us enjoy a better living environment and ensure us a better living standard. It’s crucial to continue scientific research day by day, month by month and year by year, and our government is trying her best to support scientific research, however, I do not think it’s appropriate to support research that do not have any practical use. My reasons are as follows.

For one thing, doing unpractical scientific research is a waste of time and energy. When we aim to achieve something, we need a clearly defined goal, then we make efforts to make ends meet. If a scientific research is unpractical, it won’t have a right target, which definitely makes the progress slowly. Not to say that there are a lot of practical researches to do, scientists can spend their time and energy on the existing technology to maximize the resource. For example, it’s more valuable to workout a way to decompose garbage than to do the unpractical researches.

For another, supporting unpractical research is a waste of money. It’s true that science can create wealth for us, but unpractical science creates nothing, at the same time, the government will have to allocate an amount of money on the research, which decreases other practical uses. We have a lot of districts to construct, a lot of jobless people to help and a lot of emergencies to handle. We need the money to be put on the most badly-needed place, and to solve the practical things.

Furthermore, supporting unpractical research is a waste resource. Doing scientific research may needs raw materials, precise instrument, maybe a trip to explore the so-called “truth”, which is of no value to our society. On the contrary, if scientists only do scientific research that have practical use, it will surely save energy, as well as their time and energy, which can be used in some other practical aspects, and creates a win-win situation to people and society.

In a word, the government should not support scientific research that does not have any practical use. As is said above, it’s a waste of time, money and resource.