Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Colleges should require freshman students to take a class on how to study in college.

As far as I am concerned, freshman students are not supposed to take a class on how to study in college.

First, freshman students do not have enough time to take this kind of class. As we know students are extremely busy everyday, especially freshman students have to take more classes than other students. When I was a freshman student, I need to take various classes from 8 o’clock in the morning to 9 o’clock in the evening, which makes me really tired and stressed out. Basically, I do not have much spare time to take a break. If I am forced to take this class, I may not be happy and I will not listen to the teacher carefully. Even worse, I probably fall asleep during the class. As a resualt, I can learn nothing from the class. However, I am more exhausted than before. Thus, this class is unnecessary for freshman students.

Second, besides the class, freshman students can know about how to study in college in other ways. For example, they are able to ask professors or senior and junior students for help. Because these people have been colleges for several years, they comprehend the colleges very well. Moreover, since the development of internet, freshman students also can search some information on the internet. There are plenty of people share their experience on their social media. Therefore, requring freshman students to take a class to learn how to study in college is not a good idea.

Third, the class is not suitable for every student is another reason why I disagree with the statement. There is no doubt that everyone is unique. Since every freshman student might meet different problems, not every student can be benefical from this class. For example, I did not know how to manage time at my spare time when I was a freshman student. In contrast, my roomate janis had a difficulty in taking notes during the class. Accordingly, joining a class does not really teach freshman students about how to study in college.

As the three reasons mentioned above, it is easy to draw the conclusion that in order to understand how to study in college, asking freshman students to take a class is not a best solution.