As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

(1)students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study.

(2)students must volunteer to work in the city where the university is located  or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town.

which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university. Why?

One month break is very valuable for students because they can learn a lot during these days. As far as I am concerned, I think taking a course on the subject that has no direct connection to students’ majors of study is more beneficial for students.

First, since lots of students did not figure out what they are interested in and what they are good at before entering universities, this is a good chance for these students to find or learn something that they are really interested in. For example, students are able to take classical music courses, art history courses and stuff like that. In this case, students could know better about themselves than before. After studying for a moth, they know clearly about what they are actually want to learn in the university and what they want to do in the future. Therefore, if they are no satisfied with their current major, they can changes their major as soon as the beginning of the next semester. But if they just do some work in the city or in their hometowns, they cannot find out that their major is not suitable for them. Maybe they will very regret in one day. Therefore, the first choice is much better for students.

Second, although students can do some volunteer work in the city and students’ hometowns to develop some aspects of life of the city or their own town, these jobs might be a great burden for students. For instance, they may need to be exposed to the sun for a long time to finish the tasks. Besides, in order to do a good job, students have to stand for 8 or more hours to do various work which will definitely make them very tired. Even worse, they may get injured or sick because of these exhausted jobs. It is sure that the university does not want to see these kinds of outcomes. On the contrary, students will feel more comfortable when they study other courses in the classrooms than doing jobs. Therefore, it is obvious that students can gain more advantages from the first option than the second option.

As the two reasons mentioned above, it is easy to draw conclusion that the first option will be way more beneficial for students than the second option.