Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take courses in fine arts or social science.)

2. Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.)

Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons.

Spending time during breaks between semesters has always been a pleasure thought for individuals. In this regard, some people believe that taking some irrelevant courses during breaks can be a great choice, while some others prefer to attend in volunteer works in their hometown or other places. I personally suppose that doing volunteer works to enhance different aspects of community’s daily life is superior to participate in classes connected to students’ major indirectly. I will enlarge on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, students can kill two birds with one stone by selecting volunteer works as their assignment for their break time. To put it in more vivid picture, not only do volunteer works help society, but also they can help students to be ready for their future careers. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. Some trips during the summer break were contemplated as volunteer works by my previous university. I used to be involved in those trips one of which was held in my hometown and we had to teach students living in a small poor village. The first benefit of that trip was for students who live in that village since they learned several lessons, which have made them literate. In addition, the second advantage of that was experience which I have earned by teaching those students and I am using it nowadays in my profession.

Secondly, since students will not be able to use an irrelevant course in their real lives, taking such courses is a sheer waste of time. To clarify this point, almost always do students opt their major according to their interests, which motivates them to implement their courses as well as possible. Whereas they do not pay enough attention to a course, if it is not connected to their major directly. Consequently, that course will be so detrimental that they desperately want to put an end to it since it can ruin students’ break totally.

To sum up, all things considered, I firmly believe that volunteer works in society are preferable to selecting irrelevant courses. Given the fact that it is beneficial for both community and students, also taking courses with no connection to students’ major is a complete waste of time.