Students of a university have a long break between university semesters the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break 1 Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their ma

Universities always assign some works for students to do during their long vacation time. Some of them make their students take additional courses, while others encourage them to do volunteer works to benefit society. As for me, I think it is better for the university to make students take a course that is no connection with their major study.

First of all, it can help students to discover and develop their second interests by attending classed that are in other study fields. For example, my historical-major friend, Frank, was busy working on his research and presentation. Thanks to the rule which students should take courses out of their major studies, he had a chance to enroll in a law class and he found that it was really interesting. Since then, he has attended several law classes during the summer and winter vacations. Finally, he learned all the law and debating skills. Thus, this rule really allowed Frank to find his second intrigue.

Secondly, it can make students easy to have a better career future if they possess distinctive fields of knowledge by taking non-major courses. Take myself for example; when I took the programming course which all the chemical engineering students were legislated to take, I learned lots of coding skills and how to stimulate chemical engineering reactions. After graduating, I got a bunch of offers not only in the chemical engineering field but also in the computer science field. Furthermore, these computer science abilities also allowed me to get higher salary payments. I even got promoted three years after work for the Apple Corporation. Hence, the rule that students should take additional courses in other major study fields really let me acquire a decent job with decent pay.

Last but not least, students can build further social connections with others by taking the course that is unrelated to their major studies. For instance, when my sister's college force her, major in environmental science, to take the math courses, she became friends with other class takers from other departments. Moreover, they even teamed up to participate in a science research competition. With their collaboration, they became best friends. Therefore, this rule really made my sister meet others who studied in different majors, allowing her to wider her friendship zone.

In conclusion, I hold the profound conviction that it is better for the university to have students join a course that is not directly related to their major of study. After all, students can find their second interests, build extensive social connections, and have a better career future easily by taking this kind of class.