Agree or disagree students are more interested in politics than they were in the past

Political participation has been acceptable for everyone for a long time. Some people think that students are more interested in politic nowadays, while other believe that students put less emphasis on it. As for me, I hold the belief that students are more interested in politics today that they were in the past.

First of all, it is easy for students to join the political demonstration parades today than in the past, thereby making students today have more interest in politics. For example, when I, a college student, want to show my perspective about the nuclear plant construction policy, I can easily find a parade to demonstrate my opinions. Besides, I also can hold the parade of anti-nuclear demonstration on the social media and websites. With the easy access of demonstration participation, I focus more political issue such as plastic usage, forest damage, and water pollution. On the contrary, since the special political issue between Taiwan and China, students in the 1960s were banned to join any parade, making them ignore and avoid to comment the political issue for a long time. Therefore, students nowadays really put more emphasis on politics than they do in the past.

Secondly, since the technology makes news about politics more accessible, it encourages more students’ awareness about politics. Take my parents and I for example, when my parents were studied in college in 1970, it was hard to access the news reported on the television. With this inconvenience, my mom and dad knew nothing about the government policies, making no student show political awareness and interest. In contrast, when I study in the university now, not only can I watch the news on the television but I can also watch the government policies on the website to supervise the government. By this technology revolution, all my classmates and friends showed their concerns about policies. Hence, the easy access to the news really allow students today to focus more on political issues.

Last but not least, since school nowadays set up the civics classes for students to discuss the political issues and learn the political concepts, it improves students’ intrigue to the politics. For instance, when the government deiced to set up the civics classes at school in 2000, all the students can learn the voting policies, laws, and other political knowledge. With this change, more and more students can share their opinions in class by presentation and discussion. Additionally, students could also utilize their civics knowledge to found out the bad policy and report it to the government, which the students before 2000 had no ability to do. Consequently, the civics education really allows more students nowadays to acquire their political knowledge to participate in politics.

In conclusion, I hold the profound conviction that students today are more intrigued in politics than they were in the past. After all, not only students can easily access to political demonstration and news to share their political views bur they also possess more political knowledge to aware their country’s politics.