In times of economic crisis in which field do you think the government can cut financial support 1 Art2 Scientific research3 Parks and public gardens

As the economic crisis occurs, it is the government’s duty to handle its budgets to pass through the bad scenario. Some people think the government should cut the financial support of art, others argue that scientific research is the most unnecessary, still others propose to trim the financial support of parks and gardens. As for me, I believe that the government can cut the budget for parks and gardens in an economic crisis.

First of all, the government can cut financial support for constructing parks and public gardens in that they cannot provide the basic need for people in times of economic crisis. For example, when Taiwan suffered the economic crisis in 1960, all Taiwanese people’s needs were food and water. However, neither could the parks be utilized for agriculture nor could they provide sanitary water supports. In this bad situation, the adults placed most of the emphasis on working in the factories. Furthermore, most of the residents blamed the Taiwanese government for keeping setting up the useless public parks. They even demonstrated that making the parks into factories creates more jobs for people. Hence, these parks and public gardens really showed their uselessness for fulfilling people’s living needs during this crisis.

Secondly, since the construction fee of the Parks and public gardens is much higher, it is suitable for the government to cut financial support for building parks and gardens during the economic crisis. Take the Taiwanese government for example; when the economic crisis occurred in 2008, the Taiwanese government reduce the spending on public garden construction. With this strategy, it saved 10 billion USD and used them to offer Taiwanese residents with enough amount of subsidy. Finally, Taiwanese people could get past this bad circumstance. Therefore, not only can this approach prevent a vicious circle of economic deterioration but also let the Taiwanese government have enough budget to help people overcome this crisis.

Thirdly, arts and scientific research supplements can create more job opportunities or solutions for people, thereby solving the economic crisis. For instance, when the COVID-19 pandemic brought about the economic depression in 2020, most of the government kept supporting the arts and scientific research to create more domestic job opportunities for their residents. In 2021, the post-pandemic era, artworks surprisingly brought more and more visitors, which prospered the European economy to growth. Additionally, the scientific research also made a breakthrough invention on the COVIS-19 remedy and vaccine, thus making the international economy recovered. Consequently, arts and scientific research really offered new jobs to individuals and brought new solutions to solve the crisis situation.

In conclusion, I hold the profound conviction that the government can cut the park and garden construction budgets at the time of economic crisis. After all, the parks and gardens cannot offer people’s basic needs, and cutting their sensational construction budgets can also ease the economic crisis.