Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2. Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples.

It is indeed undeniable that students would like to do the tasks that benefit them. Although some of my friends believe that different course can help them in many aspects, but from my vantage point, the students benefit being the volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometown. Not only can it be a work experience for them, but also it benefits the society. I subscribe in this way which I will illustrate in the following reason.

The first exquisite point to mention is that this work can be work experience for the students. When they do some jobs such as teaching assistant or teaching for several days to the students who need some improvements, it will be an experience. Even, they will put this experience in their CVs. Moreover, this experience can help students in the similar positions. Therefore, they can exploit from their experience in order to do well their jobs. Students can make the relationship with people from their own cities that may be helpful in finding jobs for the students after their graduation. A vivid example can be shed light on this subject is my own experience. I experienced the same event and I remember I made an appropriate relationship with one of the managers of the high-school. Consequently, I was able to continue as a teacher in the summer when the university was off. It was also the review of the notions that I had learned for me that I could use in my later classes. By those classes, I was taught that how to behave in the class and how to be efficient.

Another reason that deserves some words is that the society can benefit it. First off, the students of schools can be improved in learning the materials of their lessons. They also will be familiar with the university students and consequently, with the university programs. Therefore, they will be motivated in their studies. Moreover, the value of the university among people of the society will increase with this work. Not only will the university be respected among people, but also the students and consequently, the science and increasing knowledge will be value. Going back to the above example. After that action my university did, in the next year, there were lots of applications for undergraduate courses. Therefore, some outstanding students were entered to our university. Actually, this valuable action worked to our university.

All in all, I assert that students are better to participate in some volunteer works in the light of the aforementioned reasons. Because it benefits not only the students but also the university and the society.