#TOEFL #iBT November 5, 2016

University students are often encouraged to study fields in which significant job growth (a large increase in job opportunities) is expected; these fields currently include science, technology, engineering, and math, do you believe students should consider studying fields related to these subjects even if they are more interested in other subjects? Why or why not?

It is indeed undeniable that making money is a more important factor to be successful in life. Although some of my friends are conservative and think that money and job are essential in choosing a university major, from my vantage point, to be interested in a subject is the most prominent factor for the students to study that field at the university. Not only can they be successful in their university studies, but also they will be able to find an appropriate job related to their major. I subscribe this way which I will illustrate in the following essay.

The first exquisite point to mention is that if the students are interested in their fields, they will pay special attention to their courses. Whenever they are in the classrooms, they concentrate every material that the professors present. It is clear that every student is aware of all the materials and notions of a course, s/he will obtain the best score in that course. The students of a course can’t understand every detail of course unless they love that course and their majors. A vivid example can be shed light on this subject is my own experience. Unlike my friends and classmates, I was interested in my major and consequently, I was trying to concentrate all the notions and definitions of the class, and as a result, I had the best marks. I chose my major in the situation that most of my high-school teachers, actually, had warned that your chosen major is not so practical, while I made my decision according to my own interests. In fact, to be interested caused me to get the best results in every course.

Another reason that deserves some words is that those who are interested in their majors will find their jobs. In my view, they are so motivated in doing jobs and finding a position that they love. According to the above reason, since they have the best performance at the university and as result, they will be qualified in applying positions which are relevant to their university majors, though the positions of that major may be less than the major. I remember that due to my excellent performance, at the university, I was accepted in most positions that I had applied. Even, I didn’t search so much for the variety of jobs and positions, however, I was qualified in my first applications.

To make long story short, I assert that to be interested in one major is more prominent in choosing a university major in the light of the aforementioned reasons. Actually, having a satisfying performance at the university and finding job are its main reasons to behave in this way. Therefore, the interest factor is more important.