University students are often encouraged to study fields in which significant job growth (a large increase in job opportunities) is expected; these fields currently include science, technology, engineering, and math, do you believe students should consider studying fields related to these subjects even if they are more interested in other subjects? Why or why not?

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that choosing a proper major in the university plays a prominent role in each individual’s life. In fact, making a decent decision on this matter would completely change the path of life and could be a turning point in every body’s life, in terms of making progress in the profession, avoiding from being tedious in the work environment, and so forth. Although some people believe that each person should only choose the field of study in which they want to start at the university according to job growth, I have a different point of view. As far as I am concerned, in order for students to be prosperous in their major, they should be able to opt their favorite field of study in which they are passionate, due to a number of reasons, two of which are of great importance in comparison to others, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The first and probably the most important reason to be mentioned is that all of the students should pursue their interests. Chasing interests in life not only would cause making progress in works, but also results in an internal satisfaction additionally. To shed light on this matter, I want to mention an example of my personal experience. Before going to university, I was passionate about photography. Every day and in most of the situations I was going out with a couple of my friends to take photos. My photos were chosen for exhibitions in numerous art galleries. After a while, my parents compelled me to choose Civil engineering as my major in university. Since I was not aware of the disadvantages of this decision, I obeyed and enrolled in it. After six terms of studying, I found out that I was in the wrong way. Thus I withdrew and started again to study photography. Now I am working in one of the most prestigious advertising companies in my city with a high salary. In fact, now I have both the internal satisfaction in addition to a rapid progression in my career.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that people feel tedious in work when they choose a major in which they are not interested in. In fact, all of us spend most of our time in the working environment. Having a lot of affection is the stepping-stone for having a pleasant working environment. Sense of estrangement than their major cause to various mental diseases such as depression and insomnia. Based on a recently revealed research by an authentic institute in my country in the field of psychology, it shows despite the fact that people find a position much more faster than those who chase their interests, there is a high correlation between higher rates of depression and working without any interest. Indeed, they sacrifice their whole life, since they don’t want to take a risk and accept the fact that the quality of their whole life is dependent on pursuing their interests.

To make a long story short, one can conclude that because of my personal experience and the noteworthy research in this field, students should chase their favorite major and be assured that this is the only way of success. We only live once, why should we waste our lives by making a wrong choice?