University students are often encouraged to study fields in which significant job growth (a large increase in job opportunities) is expected; these fields currently include science, technology, engineering, and math, do you believe students should consider studying fields related to these subjects even if they are more interested in other subjects? Why or why not?

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that choosing a proper major in the university plays a prominent role in each individual’s life. In fact, making a decent decision on this matter would completely change the path of life and could be a turning point in every body’s life, in terms of making progress in the profession, avoiding from being tedious in work environment, and so forth. Although some people believe that each person should only choose the field of study in which they want to start in the university according to the job growth, I have a different point of view. As far as I am concerned,in order for students to be prosperous in their major, they should be able to opt their favorite field of study in which they are passion, due to a number of reasons, two of which are of great importance in comparison to others, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The first and probably the most important reason to be mentioned is that all of the students should persue their interest. Chasing interests in life not only would cause making progress in works, but also results in an internal satisfaction additionally. To shed light on this matter, I want to mention an example of my personal experience. Before going to the university, I was passionate about photography. Every day and in most of situations I were going out with a couple of my friends to take photos. My photos were chosen for exhibition in several art gallery. After a while, my parents compeled me to choose Civil engineering as my major in the university. Since I was not aware of harms a this decision, I abeyed and enrolled in. After six terms of studying, I found out that I was in the wrong way. Thus I widthrew and started again to study the photography. Now I am working in one of the most prestigious advertising companies in my city with a high salary. In fact, now I have both the internal satisfaction in addition to a rapid progression in my career.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that people feel tedious in work when they choose a major in which they are not interested in. In fact, all of us spend most of the time in working environment. Having a lot of affection is the stepping-stone for having a pleasant working environment. the sense of estrangement than their major cause to various mental disease such as depression and insomnia. Based on a recently revealed research by an authentic institute in my country in the field of psychology, it shows despite the fact that people find a position much more faster than those who chase their interest, there is a high correlation between higher rates of depression and working without any interest. Indeed, they sacrifice their whole life, since they don’t want to take risk and accept the fact that the quality of their whole life is dependent to pursuing their interests.

To make a long story short, one can conclude that because of my personal experience and the noteworthy research in this field, students should chase their favorite major and be assured that this is the only way of success. We only live once, why should we waste our lives by making a wrong choice?