TOEFL 10 SEP Q2
Do you agree or disagree? Internet should be like other services such as roads, and government should provide it to the public with no cost.
Although some of my friends agree the above statement as suitable facilities for them, but from
my vantage point, it may not help the qualities of the internet. Not only the competitions of the
companies of the internet providers would be eliminated, but also that might have lots of
expenditures to the government. I don’t subscribe the above statement due to couple of reasons
which I will explore in the following essay.
The first exquisite point to mention is that the competition between the internet provider
services companies would be eliminated. If the internet is free for all people, then the internet
companies can’t be active and they will be bankruptcy and the government as the only internet
provider also can’t be provide the high-quality internet because, the exclusive of the this business
lies just in the control of the government and since there is no other internet providers to compete
with them in order to have new costumers. If there are several companies as internet provider,
they will make lots of efforts to obtain and maintain their customers. These efforts can be the
high-quality internet with low expenditure and as a result, the internet consumer can benefits
from this subject in two ways. A vivid example can be shed light on this subject is my country.
For us in our country, there are several internet companies with disparate properties so that
everybody can choose one of them due to their requirements. I remember last year, I changed my
internet provider company because of its weak services. I think if there exists only one company
in this area so I would have to be patient about my internet quality.
Another reason that deserves some words is that if the government provides the internet for
public freely therefore, the government has to pay lots of expenditure. This expenditure can
affect the budget of the infrastructures such as constructing roads, bridges and etc. My father’s
experience is an appropriate example of this. In the past the internet was just in the exclusive of
the government. Although the government was receiving little from people but it was not
sufficient for the complete expenditure of the internet and consequently had to pay the remained
portion of the expenditure. My father as government worker describes the situations of that time
that this new extra expenditure how affected the country’s budget. Finally, the government
decided to change the condition gradually to persuade the private company to work in this field.
To make long story short, I can say that because of the competition between the internet
services private companies and as a result the quality of the internet, the internet shouldn’t be
free. Moreover, this obviously affects the country’s budget that in my view it is not appropriate.