TPO 40 independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although some of my friends claim that there is no difference about this between the past and today, but in my opinion the society values of the teachers were so higher in the past than it is in today. It is not only due to the existence of the excessive teachers in the present time in the society than the past but also because of the illiteracy at the societies the past caused some values to teachers. I think I approve of the above statement for two reasons which I will illustrate in the following essay.

To begin with, it is obvious that if there exist something in abundantly then the value of that something is not so high. This abstract snapshot can be generalized to everything like teachers and nowadays the number of the teachers has been increased consequently their values are not so high. People and students can learn everything from the internet and social networks and of course the number of the teachers is so high then the availability of them is easy. Therefore, these two prominent factors caused that people do not respect the teachers like the past. My father's experience, who was teacher for thirty years, is good example for this. He says when he was a teacher in our towns; he was one of the first teachers. There wasn't internet in that time and the scarcity of the teacher on the other side made them the only reference for learning. So that's why they were valuable in that time.

Last but not least, the illiteracy situation was ruled on the society in the past time. Actually, it was one of the most outstanding problem in the society so the governments had to increase the salary of the teachers in order to persuade them be more active. On the contrary, more people need teacher in order to be educated so they liked teachers and sometimes were giving them free services in order to be thankful. Again, my father has lots of the memories and examples about this. He says when he was young teacher he had additional hours to work so that excessive salary for him and moreover, he remembers the high-valued gifts from the students' parents. People in that time loved teachers more than today.

To make long story short, I can say that the situation of the past time and the number of the teachers in the present time have been changed completely. Therefore, according to the above reasons that I mentioned the values of the teachers in the present societies have been fallen down.