TOEFL iBT October 28, 2016.

Do you agree or disagree? It is better to use your own knowledge and experience to solve problems than to ask other people for advice.

At this complicated world, it is indeed undeniable to solve every problem solely by ourselves. Everybody has its own idea and, every point has its own benefits but, from my vantage point, we can exploit others’ experience and knowledge appropriately. Not only can we solve our problems in a fast way, but also it is possible to gain additional knowledge which can be useful in the next time. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to mention is that with the help of the others’ experience we can solve our problems as soon as possible and, consequently we will have minimum wasting time. This help, in my view, does not mean to solve the problem completely by the others’ direction. Actually, we can exploit the other’s guidance even with one tiny keyword. Therefore, we are able to solve the problems fast, but also we increased our abilities in solving different problems. A vivid example on this subject is my own experience. When I finished my undergraduate, I was eager to continue my education in graduate, but I didn’t how to find and how to apply for an appropriate school. My friend was a successful candidate in one of the graduate school, said to me, you can analyze the university admission web sections and, also some universities have also job vacancies section that you can find some PhD positions there. My friend doesn’t find me any graduate position, but actually, he gave me some critical keywords that persuade me how to search for my problem on the internet.

Another reason that deserves some words is that it is possible to gain extra knowledge and additional tricks which can be useful for us in the next time. Sometimes, we can solve a problem, and we know how to get the result but, maybe there is another way that we can use that way when our solution is not viable. Therefore, asking another solution will enable us to be equipped more in facing the problems. Again in the above example, I remember I spoke with another my friend and he advised me about graduate education in another way. In fact, he persuaded me to think broadly about applying for the universities abroad. Although I knew that how to apply, but I didn’t consider the universities in abroad. He advised me to find the universities and how to be aware of their rank and how to decide in the best way. Finally, I could make my best decision with the help of my friends’ advisements.

To make long story short, I assert that using others’ experience has lots of benefits in the light of the aforementioned reasons. Not only will we be able to get an appropriate result fast, but we also gain extra useful information. Therefore, how can we ignore the others’ experience and knowledge?