Do you agree or disagree? Internet should be like other services such as roads, and government should provide it to the public with no cost.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that in today’s communicative world we live in, accessing the Internet plays a crucial role in the level of awareness of people in the society. Though by using the Internet people can increase their general knowledge, its negative effects on the people especially children or young people are the subject of contention. Some persons believe that people should not pay for using the Internet; on the other hand, others hold the view that government should provide this facility for the individuals by getting its cost. I personally concur with the former group. In what follows, I will explicate my standpoints.

The first reason coming to mind is that people will have an indirect positive influence on their environment, if they access to the net for free. In these progressive days, people can do most of their routine works such as financial payments and shopping by the Internet. It is more convenient for them to pay their electrical or gas bills by means of online payment instead of going to the bank with their cars or public transportation. There is one example for more clarifying. People of my country should pay much for accessing the Internet. So, they prefer to go shopping and do their financial payments by their cars. In addition, in some cases, they might use complicated and long routines for reaching their destination. However, there is a good application like “Google Map” for finding our efficient way that people can use it when they are driving and have the Internet. With respect to the environmental issues, as people use less their private cars, the air pollution will decrease. It is clearly evident that, if the government had facilitated using the Internet with no cost, the air pollution would not have been increased at a high level as it today.

The second reason is rooted in the promotion of the awareness of individuals in the community. In fact, the Internet has paved ways for increasing our knowledge about every subject, which we look for. If we consider this point meticulously, although availability of cyberspace may enhance the general information of people, it causes some problems for them, particularly for young adults. Nonetheless, I think that its advantages outweigh its drawbacks. For instance, most of the researches are doing based on reaching to the network. Regarding new achievements and studies, scientists and researchers try to develop their work. So, it is not possible just by using the Internet technology. Beside these persons, ordinary people use the net for several purposes like food recipe, medicine and drug information and so much more. It turns out; priceless web can make a good environment for people to find useful information that they need very efficiently.

All in all, based on the reasons that I already mentioned, It seems to me, governments should provide the Internet for their individuals for free. Since it will have a magnificent impact on the environment due to the fact that in this way using the private cars will be reduced. Furthermore, if community’s people get access to the net easily, they will try to use it as a source of information. As a result, their understanding’s level will be increased. I hope all governments decide to apply this plan in the future.