Do you agree or disagree: Internet should be like other services, such as roads, and government should provide it to the public with no cost.

People have benefit tremendously from the advancement of technology, especially from internet. Internet has gradually became a necessity for modern citizen's daily life. Recently, a hotly-discussed proposal has been brought to attention regarding whether the government should provide free internet to the public. If I were the decision maker, I would definitely support it.

At present, no matter where we go, we are blessed with the prevalent use of internet. For example, if we take a trip by ourselves, we need to make a lot of preparations which include the routies , the transportation, the special food in local area, the customs and so forth . The office staff uses internet to work. People uses internet to have some entertainment items or search for all kinds of resources. All of these can not be known if we have no access to internet. People almost can not live without internet, just like people can not live without roads or some other infrastructure. Therefore, it is imperative for the government to take some measures to make internet available for everyone.

Secondly, the high charge has excluded many people out of internet use. The internet cables are needed to be prepared, which is costy. The signal receptors are also very expensive, the service fee are also needed to be paid every months. There is a large majority of people who live in poverty-stricken area , and they also deserve equal opportunity to use inernet. People in these area can make good use of the internet to get educated or change the poor condition of their hometown . Besides, students with no income also need internet to make research or do paper work. Thus, it is the escapable responsiblity of the government to render assistance to this groups who has no money but longing for the use of internet.

Taking into account of the need of ordinary people, along with the expensive fees of the internet, the financial support from the government is of essential significance. More budgets should be put into internet infrastructure and be given to poor people.