Some people believe that it is important to follow traditions even if they conflict with their beliefs other believe individual preferences are important than traditions

The way that people treat and do is distinctive. Some people follow the traditional way to deal with everything, while others tend to follow personal preference. As for me, I believe that following what you prefer is much more important.

First of all, it is more vital to follow personal preference because it can make people put more effort and enjoy in the works. For example, when I did the scientific report, my senior always told me to follow her method to make an excellent report to get better grades. However, I refused to follow her way and utilized my own strategy to handle the whole project instead. Because everything was followed in my own way, I enjoyed searching data, conducting experiments, and even doing tens of thousands of paper works. Finally, I complete the report with joy and an enjoyable feeling. Thus, I really put more effort into my work enjoyably by making things followed my own method.

Secondly, people who tend to handle things in their way can create more opportunities for success. Take my friend, David, for example; when David avoided following the family tradition to study medicine, he focused on art in which he was talented. With his inborn talent, he won a lot of competition and even got an opportunity to study abroad. It was his insistence that he abandoned the traditional way to become a doctor and discovered the realm he really good at to show his outstanding art performance in the world. Therefore, David really followed his personal preference subject, art, to become an unprecedented artist in the world.

Thirdly, following the traditional way sometimes is not suitable in contemporary society. For instance, when my friend, Amy, teamed up with me to prepare the final presentation, she insisted to used traditional paperwork to prepare the slides. Due to her continuous insistence, we printed all the information and cut them to make the slides, thus making us spend 2 weeks finishing the slide-making task. Additionally, Amy refused to scan it to transform the paperwork into the electronic PowerPoint file to present. She even printed 30 copies for each of the students rather than showing the slides via the projector. Finally, the professor evaluated this ridiculous presentation to a failing score. Hence, the traditional presentation form not only let us spend an extremely large time preparing but it was also obsolete to express.

In conclusion, I hold the profound conviction that following personal preference is more crucial. After all, not only can it make people place more emphasis on handling things but it can also create more opportunities to succeed.