In order to attract more tourists the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets Which way do you think is more effective

With traveling prospering nowadays, attracting tourists becomes significant. Some governments place emphasis on tourists' safety, while others focus on preparing historical buildings and streets. As for me, I think repairing buildings and streets is more effective for the government to attract tourists.

First of all, it is more effective for traveler attraction by repairing buildings and streets from the government. For example, when the Taiwanese government repaired the Long Shan temple, lots of vendors surged to the nearby street to sell their goods. Moreover, some merchants even invest to create an international night market for attracting travelers. Thanks to the vendor assembly and businessman investment, hundreds of people visited and purchased in this historical spot every day, making this place unprecedentedly hustle and bustle. Hence, the repairing of the Lang Shan temple from the Taiwanese government really changed this area into a tourist-attractive spot.

Secondly, the better appearance of old buildings and streets from government repairing can obtain a better reputation, thus attracting more tourists. For instance, after the British government repaired the color of Big Ben, lots of news introduced this great masterpiece to the audiences, bringing about a large number of travelers. Besides, the tourists who had visited Big Ben gave astonishing praise about it. With the positive praise passing one to another person, it became the world's most preference visiting spot and it held fifty traveling tours every day. Thus, the well-repaired Big Ben made England be the place which tens of thousands of travelers called on.

Thirdly, safety improvement cannot effectively attract more visitors since most people travel with tourism which provides safe traveling. Take my family and me for Example; when we traveled abroad, we always tended to join the professional tourism which had several tour guides for the group protection. By touring with a safe traveling group, we put less concern on the local safety issue. Additionally, the touring group had their own touring bus, making us safe to shuttle each of the historical sites. The tour company even arranged for us to accommodate in the five-star hotel with the police station nearby. Thus, the safety improvement for the government is unnecessary in that commercial tourism can already provide enough safety for traveling.

In conclusion, I hold the profound conviction that it is more effective for the government to attract tourists. After all, not only can it attract more merchants to invest but it can also gain a better reputation.