In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which way do you think is more effective?

With the development of technology, people can travel around the world easily, and more places relay on tourists for a living. In my opinion, if a country wants to attract more tourists, the government should spend more budget on the appearance of the buildings and the streets. There are two reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, most people like to take pictures when they are traveling, and thus it is important for them to visit good-looking places. Besides this, lots of people today are passionate about social media and used to share their lives on different social platforms. Consider celebrities, for instance. They usually post beautiful photos of themselves on Instagram to tell everyone they have been many places overseas. This is not only for showing off but attract more people to follow them and earn money by their popularities. That is the reason why those people care about the appearance of a city. In short, repairing old buildings and streets is actually useful to make a city appeal to more people to visit.

Moreover, although it is true that the police or securities standing at famous viewpoints can make sure visitors’ safety, people’s willingness to go there may decrease since people may think there is something terrible happened, or they may feel pressure while they are sightseeing. Further, it is for sure that rebuilding old construction and clean the streets can increase the number of tourists since it is safer and tidy. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I traveled to Europe, I was used to comparing different cities I have been to. I was surprised at the homeless people and dirty streets in Budapest after being in Vienna. The roads in Vienna was not messy at all, and I felt comfortable while I was strolling in the city. In addition, if someone asks my recommendation about which city or viewpoint should go, I will choose Vienna. Therefore, there is no doubt that maintaining the appearance of a city can attract more visitors.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that keeping a place clean and make it looks new can definitely attract more travelers effectively. This is because people take pictures and like to show off how they enjoy the lives. Additionally, most people prefer to have a trip to a clean, tidy place instead of a messy place.